Categorized | Sports

Sania is Indian Tennis Players Association VP

Posted on 17 April 2013 by admin

Star player Sania Mirza has also joined Indian Tennis Players Association (ITPA) as one of its VicePresidents.

Sania is now one of the four Vice Presidents of the newly-formed body with Leander Paes, Mahesh Bhupathi and Somdev Devvarman being the other VPs.

“Happy to announce that Mirza Sania has consented to be a VP of Tennis ITPA and she has been co opted unanimously. Welcome aboard Sania,” Karti P Chidambaram, who is secretary of ITPA and also AITA Vice President, tweeted.

The Association was formed recently and office bearers were announced during India’s Davis Cup tie against Indonesia in Bangalore. Former Davis Cup captain Jaideep Mukherjea was elected as President of the Association.

Sania, the first female player from the country to win a Grand Slam, now plays only in doubles.

She gave up her singles career due to injuries so that she could prolong her career at least in doubles.

Leave a Reply

Advertise Here
Advertise Here